PACU · Day 11 of 20

The blocked limb, the contested question, and the late toxicity

Whether a regional block masks compartment syndrome is contested, with society statements finding no evidence that regional anesthesia delays the diagnosis while clinical practice treats breakthrough pain in a blocked limb as the signal to look, and local anesthetic systemic toxicity can present in the PACU late and unlike block regression.

Consensus only · rests on practice advisory mechanism established clinical claim uncertain

Why it matters

Two things arrive in the PACU under a working regional block, and both are easy to misread as the block. The first is compartment syndrome in a limb that cannot feel it, a question on which the strongest society statement and everyday clinical practice pull in different directions ivani-2015. The second is local anesthetic systemic toxicity, which the current ASRA advisory describes as presenting in changed patterns, including delayed and atypical presentations, so that it looks unlike the block regression it is mistaken for neal-2018.

The consequence of getting this wrong is a limb, or a patient, whose deterioration is filed under the block.

Mechanism

A peripheral nerve block interrupts conduction in the nerves that would carry the pain of a rising compartment pressure, which is the whole basis of the worry that it masks compartment syndrome. Against that, ischemic pain is intense and often breaks through a sensory block as the compartment pressure rises, which is the basis of the clinical practice that treats breakthrough pain as the signal. Both mechanisms are real; the disagreement is about which dominates, and the evidence cannot yet say.

Local anesthetic toxicity is a function of plasma concentration at the heart and the brain. After a block, that concentration depends on the dose, the site’s vascularity and the rate of systemic absorption, which can be slow. Absorption from a large-volume infiltration or from a depot preparation can produce a peak long after the injection, which is why toxicity can present in the PACU rather than in the block room, and why it can present with cardiovascular rather than neurological signs first neal-2018.

Evidence

The joint ESRA/ASRA committee practice advisory states that there are no current evidence-based data that the use of regional anesthesia increases the risk of acute compartment syndrome or delays its diagnosis, and that high-level evidence is not available for the topics it evaluated, with most recommendations based on Evidence B studies ivani-2015. Its scope is pediatric, which is a real limitation for an adult curriculum and is stated here rather than buried.

The 2015 ASRA advisory on neurological complications supplies the framework for distinguishing prolonged block, block failure and neurological injury on examination neal-2015.

The 2018 ASRA interim update on local anesthetic systemic toxicity covers the mechanisms of lipid resuscitation, updated frequency estimates for toxicity, the preventive role of ultrasound guidance, changes in case presentation patterns, and the limited evidence around local infiltration anesthesia and liposomal bupivacaine; it is the source for the atypical and delayed presentations that make toxicity look unlike block regression neal-2018. The 2021 ASRA checklist is the current cognitive aid, updated in response to user feedback and simulation studies; it carries a correction notice, because its Figure 1 was replaced after online-first publication, so any reproduced checklist must come from the corrected version or from the society’s own site neal-2021-checklist.

What this does not show

The compartment syndrome question is not resolved on this page and the page does not pretend otherwise. The advisory finds no evidence of delayed diagnosis; it does not find evidence against delay, and it says so by recording that high-level evidence is not available ivani-2015. The opposing position now has a society source, read in full on 2026-09-08. The Association of Anaesthetists guideline on regional analgesia for lower leg trauma advises that neuraxial or peripheral techniques producing dense blocks of long duration significantly exceeding the duration of surgery should be avoided, and records that single-shot or continuous peripheral blocks using lower concentrations without adjuncts are not associated with delays in diagnosis provided post-injury and postoperative surveillance is appropriate and effective nathanson-2021. It asks that patients at risk be identified on admission or at operation and managed within agreed multidisciplinary protocols, that ward observations be made at set frequencies by staff trained in the recognition of compartment syndrome, that objective scoring charts be used, and that the equipment to measure intracompartmental pressure be available on the wards caring for them nathanson-2021. On the professional disagreement it is blunt: neither the surgeon nor the anaesthetist has the right to veto a treatment recommended by the other, and where consensus cannot be reached the anaesthetist’s expertise in pain relief should be respected nathanson-2021.

The sentence this page was built on needs its qualifier carried with it. Breakthrough pain in a blocked limb is described there as a cardinal feature of compartment syndrome, and the same sentence adds that it may not always be a feature of the syndrome nathanson-2021. Teach both halves. A resident told to wait for breakthrough pain has been given a sign that the guideline itself says can be absent.

Grade the source by its own account of itself. It states that no other guidelines are currently available, and that a systematic review of the literature is absent, offering instead a multi-professional consensus opinion based on an objective review of case reports and case series nathanson-2021. That is why this day’s status chip reads uncertain. The compartment syndrome question is not resolved on this page and the page does not pretend otherwise. The advisory finds no evidence of delayed diagnosis; it does not find evidence against delay, and it says so by recording that high-level evidence is not available ivani-2015. The opposing position now has a society source. The Association of Anaesthetists guideline on regional analgesia for lower leg trauma advises avoiding neuraxial or peripheral techniques that produce dense blocks of long duration significantly exceeding the duration of surgery; records that single-shot or continuous peripheral blocks with lower concentrations and no adjuncts are not associated with diagnostic delay provided surveillance is appropriate; requires ward observations at set frequencies by staff trained to recognize compartment syndrome, objective scoring charts, and documented consent; and states that neither surgeon nor anesthesiologist may veto the other’s recommended treatment nathanson-2021. The specific wording that breakthrough pain in a blocked limb is the trigger to examine sits in the full text of that guideline, which this project has not read; the bedside rule below rests on the parts that were read. The two positions are not in fact opposed on the bedside rule; they differ on whether a block delays the diagnosis, and the status chip says uncertain.

Every source here is an advisory or a checklist. None is a trial, and the frequency estimates in the 2018 update have not been extracted, so no incidence figure appears neal-2018.

The lipid emulsion dose is on the corrected ASRA checklist: for a patient over 70 kg, a bolus of about 100 mL over 2 to 3 min then an infusion of about 250 mL over 15 to 20 min; under 70 kg, a bolus of about 1.5 mL/kg over 2 to 3 min then about 0.25 mL/kg/min; if unstable, repeat the bolus and double the infusion; maximum lipid dose 12 mL/kg; epinephrine in smaller than normal doses, starting below 1 µg/kg; avoid local anesthetics, beta-blockers, calcium channel blockers and vasopressin; benzodiazepines preferred for seizures; observe for 2 h after a seizure or 4 to 6 h after cardiovascular instability neal-2021-checklist. The society states that the checklist is under review with an update expected in early 2027 neal-2021-checklist. The interscalene block’s effect on the diaphragm is not a complication but a consequence: ipsilateral hemidiaphragmatic paresis on ultrasound in 13 of 13 patients within 5 min of a paresthesia-technique block with 34 to 52 mL of 1.5% mepivacaine, resolving by 3 to 5 h urmey-1991. In a prospective series of 520 interscalene blocks for shoulder surgery, acute complications were one pneumothorax (0.2%) and one episode of central nervous system toxicity (0.2%); symptoms such as paresthesia or non-surgical pain were present in 14% at 10 days, 7.9% at one month, 0.9% at six months and 0.2% at nine months borgeat-2001. That paper has now been read in full, from cover to tables, and Horner syndrome is not in it anywhere: not the abstract, not Table 2 on acute complications, not Table 3 on non-acute ones, not the discussion borgeat-2001. The question of a prospective Horner denominator is therefore closed for this source, and the fuller picture it does give is worth carrying: symptoms in 14% at 10 days, 7.9% at 1 month, 3.9% at 3 months, 0.9% at 6 months and 0.2% at 9 months, with catheter and single injection not differing significantly at any timepoint, transient burning pain on injection in 21%, every symptom appearing within 23 days, and an overall rate of short-term and severe long-term complications of 0.4% borgeat-2001. A retrospective consecutive series of 1322 interscalene blocks does report it, at 9 cases (0.7%), alongside hoarseness in 8 (0.6%), and its own authors note that this is lower than previously reported takayama-2021. Read that figure as what it is. It is passive surveillance of a case record, not a rate from patients who were examined for the sign, and Horner syndrome is far commoner when someone looks for it. This page therefore quotes 0.7% as what one record review found, not as the incidence. Pneumothorax after ultrasound-guided supraclavicular or infraclavicular block occurred in 4 of 6366 blocks (0.06%, 95% CI 0.001 to 0.124), three of the four presenting after a two-day latency, against a historical non-ultrasound risk quoted as up to 6.1% gauss-2014. The latency is the PACU point: the pneumothorax that follows a supraclavicular block is usually not in the PACU yet. The interscalene block’s effect on the diaphragm is not a complication but a consequence: ipsilateral hemidiaphragmatic paresis on ultrasound in 13 of 13 patients within 5 min of a paresthesia-technique block with 34 to 52 mL of 1.5% mepivacaine, resolving by 3 to 5 h urmey-1991. In a prospective series of 520 interscalene blocks for shoulder surgery, acute complications were one pneumothorax (0.2%) and one episode of central nervous system toxicity (0.2%); symptoms such as paresthesia or non-surgical pain were present in 14% at 10 days, 7.9% at one month, 0.9% at six months and 0.2% at nine months borgeat-2001. Horner syndrome is not reported in that series, and no source in this ledger gives its incidence, so this page does not quote one. Pneumothorax after ultrasound-guided supraclavicular or infraclavicular block occurred in 4 of 6366 blocks (0.06%, 95% CI 0.001 to 0.124), three of the four presenting after a two-day latency, against a historical non-ultrasound risk quoted as up to 6.1% gauss-2014. The latency is the PACU point: the pneumothorax that follows a supraclavicular block is usually not in the PACU yet.

At the bedside

Pain that escalates through a block that was working is a finding to explain, not a top-up to give. Examine the limb, measure what your institution measures, and involve the surgeon early; the advisory’s absence of evidence for delay is not a reason to wait ivani-2015. Local practice differs. whether a block is used at all in limbs at risk of compartment syndrome, and who is called when breakthrough pain occurs, differ between institutions and surgical services.

Know the current ASRA checklist and where the corrected version lives, because toxicity in the PACU may present hours after the block and with the heart rather than the brain neal-2021-checklist neal-2018. Have lipid emulsion where you can reach it and know the local dose.

When a block seems prolonged or a new deficit appears, use the advisory’s framework to separate prolonged block from failure from injury before you reassure anyone neal-2015.

Sources

Every number above carries its ledger key. Each key below resolves to the source record.

[[ivani-2015]] advisory 2015 n: NA paywalled

Ivani G, Suresh S, Ecoffey C, et al. The European Society of Regional Anaesthesia and Pain Therapy and the American Society of Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine Joint Committee Practice Advisory on Controversial Topics in Pediatric Regional Anesthesia. Reg Anesth Pain Med. 2015. (volume and pages UNVERIFIED)

States that there are no current evidence-based data that the use of regional anaesthesia increases the risk of acute compartment syndrome or delays its diagnosis, and that high-level evidence is not available for the topics evaluated, with most recommendations based on Evidence B studies. NOTE THE SCOPE IS PAEDIATRIC. This is the strongest society statement retrieved on the compartment-syndrome question and it does not support the claim as the day currently words it.

[[neal-2015]] advisory 2015 n: NA paywalled

Neal JM, Barrington MJ, Brull R, Hadzic A, Hebl JR, Horlocker TT, Huntoon MA, Kopp SL, Rathmell JP, Watson JC. The Second ASRA Practice Advisory on Neurologic Complications Associated With Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine: Executive Summary 2015. Reg Anesth Pain Med. 2015 Sep-Oct;40(5):401-430.

The framework for distinguishing prolonged block, block failure and neurologic injury on examination. Needed for the exam-findings half of the day.

[[neal-2018]] advisory 2018 n: NA paywalled

Neal JM, Barrington MJ, Fettiplace MR, Gitman M, Memtsoudis SG, Morwald EE, Rubin DS, Weinberg G. The Third American Society of Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine Practice Advisory on Local Anesthetic Systemic Toxicity: Executive Summary 2017. Reg Anesth Pain Med. 2018 Feb;43(2):113-123.

Interim update to the 2010 advisory covering mechanisms of lipid resuscitation, updated frequency estimates for LAST, the preventive role of ultrasound guidance, changes in case presentation patterns, and the limited evidence around local infiltration anaesthesia and liposomal bupivacaine. This is the source for the atypical and delayed presentations that make LAST look unlike block regression.

[[neal-2021-checklist]] advisory 2021 n: NA open

Neal JM, Neal EJ, Weinberg GL. American Society of Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine Local Anesthetic Systemic Toxicity checklist: 2020 version. Reg Anesth Pain Med. 2021 Jan;46(1):81-82.

The current cognitive aid, updated from the 2012/2017 versions in response to user feedback and simulation studies. CARRIES A CORRECTION NOTICE: Figure 1 was replaced after online-first publication, so any reproduced checklist graphic must come from the corrected version or from asra.com.

[[nathanson-2021]] guideline 2021 n: NA open

Nathanson MH, Harrop-Griffiths W, Aldington DJ, et al. Regional analgesia for lower leg trauma and the risk of acute compartment syndrome: Guideline from the Association of Anaesthetists. Anaesthesia. 2021 Nov;76(11):1518-1525.

Association of Anaesthetists guideline: avoid neuraxial or peripheral techniques producing dense blocks of long duration that significantly exceed the duration of surgery; single-shot or continuous PNB with lower concentrations and no adjuncts not associated with diagnostic delay provided surveillance is appropriate; ward observations at set frequencies by staff trained to recognise ACS; objective scoring charts recommended; documented verbal consent; neither surgeon nor anaesthetist may veto the other's recommended treatment. The 'breakthrough pain is the signal' wording is not in the abstract - read the PMC full text.

[[takayama-2021]] cohort 2021 n: 1322 interscalene blocks (1225 arthroscopic, 97 open); comparator arm 428 general anaesthetics open

Takayama K, Shiode H, Ito H. Ultrasound-guided interscalene block anesthesia performed by an orthopedic surgeon: a study of 1322 cases of shoulder surgery. JSES Int. 2021;6(1):149-154.

Retrospective consecutive series, single orthopaedic surgeon, Dec 2012 to Dec 2019. Table IV, acute and perioperative complications related to interscalene block: Horner syndrome 9 cases (0.7%); hoarseness 8 (0.6%); nausea 6 (0.5%); vomiting 4 (0.3%); blood aspiration 3 (0.2%); total 30 (2.3%). Authors state: 'This study had a Horner syndrome incidence of 0.7%, which is lower than that reported in previous studies.' FLAG HARD: this is PASSIVE retrospective surveillance. Horner syndrome is far commoner when actively examined for. Do not present 0.7% as the incidence.

[[urmey-1991]] cohort 1991 n: 13 paywalled

Urmey WF, Talts KH, Sharrock NE. One hundred percent incidence of hemidiaphragmatic paresis associated with interscalene brachial plexus anesthesia as diagnosed by ultrasonography. Anesth Analg. 1991 Apr;72(4):498-503.

Paresthesia-technique interscalene block (34-52 mL 1.5% mepivacaine): ipsilateral hemidiaphragmatic paresis on ultrasound in 13/13 within 5 min (11/13 at 2 min); motion normal in 10/11 by 3-4 h and in the last by 5 h. 'Diaphragmatic paresis appears to be an inevitable consequence of interscalene brachial plexus block when providing anesthesia sufficient for shoulder surgery.'

[[borgeat-2001]] cohort 2001 n: 521 enrolled, 520 analysed paywalled

Borgeat A, Ekatodramis G, Kalberer F, Benz C. Acute and nonacute complications associated with interscalene block and shoulder surgery: a prospective study. Anesthesiology. 2001 Oct;95(4):875-880.

Acute: pneumothorax 1 (0.2%), CNS toxicity 1 (0.2%). Symptomatic (paresthesia/dysesthesia/non-surgical pain) 14% at 10 days, 7.9% at 1 month, 0.9% at 6 months, 0.2% at 9 months; overall short- and severe long-term complication rate 0.4%. Horner syndrome is NOT reported in the abstract; if the day needs a Horner figure it must come from the full text or another source.

[[gauss-2014]] cohort 2014 n: 6366 blocks paywalled

Gauss A, Tugtekin I, Georgieff M, Dinse-Lambracht A, Keipke D, Gorsewski G. Incidence of clinically symptomatic pneumothorax in ultrasound-guided infraclavicular and supraclavicular brachial plexus block. Anaesthesia. 2014 Apr;69(4):327-336.

Prospective observational: clinically symptomatic, radiologically confirmed pneumothorax in 4/6366 (0.06%; 95% CI 0.001-0.124); three of the four presented after a two-day latency; historical non-ultrasound risk quoted as up to 6.1%; all four operators had performed <20 blocks (not shown to be a significant risk factor).

Check yourself

Three items. Every option carries an explanation. Progress is not saved.

Progress is not saved. Answers live on this page only and are gone when you leave it. There are no accounts and nothing is recorded.

Item 1 of 3 · advanced · ABA-ADVANCED, ITE

What does the joint ESRA/ASRA committee practice advisory say about regional anesthesia and acute compartment syndrome?

Item 2 of 3 · expert · ABA-ADVANCED, ITE, nursing

A patient with a lower-limb block reports new, escalating pain in the blocked limb in the PACU, with a rising analgesic requirement. What is the correct next step?

Item 3 of 3 · basic · ABA-BASIC, ITE, nursing

According to the 2018 ASRA interim update on local anesthetic systemic toxicity, how have case presentations changed?